My name is Lauren and

My name is Lauren and I am addicted to ice cream. Seriously. Well, not just ice cream, but cookies too. And maybe cake. I really have a major sweet tooth – this is no secret to anyone who knows me.

I feel like such a contradiction because I really want to be healthy. I try to eat healthy, and feed my family healthy.  But I just can’t get away from the sugary stuff. In fact, I am thinking about the cookies up in the kitchen right now.

I read about people who do these sugar detoxes and think that this maybe something I should try. But you know what, I really don’t want to. I want to enjoy a sweet treat sometimes. I don’t think that is so bad. But I do think I need to focus on that word – sometimes. 

I know I eat sugar way too often. I know I don’t exercise enough. I know that I am lucky to be the weight I am at while I eat this crap. I know I am getting older (just turned 35 – what??) and my body is going to rebel if I keep this up.

So here I am. I decided to start this blog so I can have some accountability. I will have to actually write it down if I eat 10 oreos for breakfast. I will then be able to look back and realize that was a pretty poor choice. Maybe someone else will read this, and then I will feel like not only do I owe it to myself to do better, but also to that person.

Here’s the word I am going to concentrate on – MODERATION. My goal is not totally cut out the sweets, but to learn they are for the occasional treat.

This is where my journey  begins. To a healthier me.

Leave a Reply

