Creamsicle Smoothie

I’ve been on a smoothie kick lately. I can’t say they don’t have sugar, because that would be a big fat lie, but they don’t have any added sugar, which is what I am trying to stay away from. They are great in the morning, especially if you add in protein power – I stay full for hours with it. 

I usually make strawberry banana smoothies, but that can get boring after awhile. I’m a big fan of coconut, so I was excited to see that the February edition of Eating Well had a whole section dedicated to recipes with coconut! When I saw this recipe, I knew I had to try it.

Creamsicle Breakfast Smoothie (from Eating Well magazine)

  • 1 cup cold pure coconut water; without added sugar or flavor
  • 1 cup nonfat vanilla Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup frozen of fresh mango chunks (I used fresh, I couldn’t find frozen for some reason at Whole foods or Trader Joe’s!)
  • 3 tablespoons frozen orange juice concentrate
  • 2 cups ice

Image

Put it all in a blender

Image

Blend until smooth, pour into a glass and enjoy!

Image

It really was delicious. Just the right amount of sweet, and without the guilt. I did not put the protein powder in this because I have chocolate flavored protein powder and I thought it would ruin the “creamsicle” flavor.

The kids loved it too – they are huge smoothie fans. My son keeps asking me for more! Smoothies are great snacks for kids, especially for those who may not have the greatest of diets. My kids devour fruit in any form!

Image

What is your favorite smoothie flavor?

Leave a Reply

